The acquisition policy of the Frac Bretagne collection is a tightly controlled process.

Each year, the technical acquisition committee, composed of personalities and specialists in contemporary art and representatives of the state, the Brittany Region and the City of Rennes, meets to discuss the acquisition proposals received.

The selection of works to be acquired is then submitted for the approval of the members of the Board of Directors.

Etienne Bernard, director of Frac Bretagne, Rennes

Leonardo Bigazzi, curator of Lo Schermo dell’arte festival, Florence, Italy

Tessa Giblin, director of Talbot Rice Gallery, Edimbourg, United Kingdom

Geraldine Gourbe, art critic and curator, Paris

Basim Magdy, artist, Bâle, Switzerland

Sandra Patron, director of CAPC Musée d’art contemporain, Bordeaux

The Technical Committee of Acquisition meets annually in spring.
The next commission will be held in 2023.

Information about the 2023 process will be available online next fall.

Acquisition Principles (2020-2022)

Special attention is paid to developping and opening existing thematic bodies of works. Built over four decades, these corpuses constitute research grounds regarding the actuality of art and its projection into the future. Notions of abstraction, status of the contemporary image as well as the relations between art and nature are envisionned in a wider field of creation in connexion with issues that challenge our contemporary world.

Acquisitions also carry on providing works for the collection of artist’s books which represents one of the hallmark features of the Frac Bretagne collection.

Both out of a concern for asserting the powerful identity of the Frac Bretagne collection, associated with image, as well as a logic of diffusion, the Frac plans to consolidate its collection of videos and films.

Special attention is paid to female/male equality and to opening up the collection to cultural diversity.

Acquisitions 2020
Acqusitions 2021

Participatory Acquisitions Program

In 2020, a participatory acquisitions program was launched. Each year, a school group will take part in the construction of the collection by discovering how it functions as well as learning about economic issues in the sector (art market, artist’s economy, production, etc.).

Students will then present their proposals to the technical acquisitions committee.

The technical acquisitions committee

Appointed by the Board of Directors, the technical acquisitions committee takes part in the Frac’s acquisitions policy. It proposes and publishes opinions about acquisition projects, in a totally independent manner and in association with the Frac’s acquisitions policy as presented above. It proposes acquisition projects and gifts of artworks destined for the collection to the Board of Directors .

The technical acquisitions committee is made up of the director and five French and international art figures qualified in the contemporary art field. These qualified figures are volunteers and must include at least one artist. The composition of the technical acquisitions committee observes strict female/male parity.

The technical acquisitions committee is attended, with a consultative vote, by the head of visual arts for the National Ministry of Culture, a member of the cultural department of the Region of Brittany and a member of the cultural department of the City of Rennes.

Images : Anna SOLAL, Le déjeuner sur l’herbe, 2019. Picture : Aurélien Mole © Anna Solal / Vincent MALASSIS, The Noisy World, 2019. Picture : Aurélien Mole © Vincent Malassis / Ana VAZ, Occidente, 2014 © Ana Vaz. Xavier ANTIN, /, (The Weavers), 2019-2020. Picture : Aurélien Mole © Adagp, Paris 2020 / Charlotte Moth, Still Life in a White Cube, 2019 © Adagp, Paris 2020